Press Releases

Mortgage Brokers to Deliver Much Needed Items to Homeless Shelters Across Canada

12.11.2018

Volunteers will distribute over 100,000 items of clothing and supplies

TORONTO, December 11, 2018 - Tonight, Mortgage Brokers and staff from Invis-Mortgage Intelligence, one of Canada's leading mortgage brokerage firms, along with industry partners and friends will visit shelters across Canada to distribute new winter clothing and much needed supplies as part of their award-winning community program, Angels in the Night Homeless Shelter Project. This powerful initiative has been making an impact in local communities for 16 consecutive years.

Angels in the Night is an annual event that results after a year's worth of community fundraising efforts. Volunteers reach out to homeless shelters in their communities to identify the items most in demand. Those items are then purchased and personally delivered to the shelters on the second Tuesday in December each year. Since 2002, Angels in the Night volunteers and industry partners have raised almost $4 million in cash and in-kind donations.

Invis-Mortgage Intelligence plans to distribute over 100,000 items, which will include coats, snow pants, rain ponchos, boots, hats, gloves, sweatshirts, pants, t-shirts, socks, underwear, pajamas, blankets/bedding and backpacks. Personal toiletries are always in high demand so tonight's deliveries will include lots of towels and basic toiletry items. Some of the deliveries will include diapers, toys and children's clothing, and items for teens.

"As Mortgage Brokers in the business of helping people find their homes, it seems right to extend some support and help those who might not have a warm home to go to every night," says Cameron Strong, CEO, Invis-Mortgage Intelligence. "Our brokers, employees and business partners are passionate about this cause and work tirelessly to make it a success each year."

What: Angels in the Night volunteers load items onto trucks and buses (varies per city) and then will deliver those items to shelters throughout the evening hours.

Start times and locations - Tuesday, December 11

Vancouver
Meet location: Army and Navy Department Store, 36 W Cordova St (Loading Dock)
Start time: 6:00 p.m. / Salvation Army Harbour Light, First United Church Shelter, Covenant House Youth Shelter, Springhouse Womens Shelter
Contact: Rob Hafer at rob.hafer@invismi.ca or 250.881.3900 or Tony Kreutzer at tony.kreutzer@invismi.ca or 250.718.4687

Calgary
Meet Location: Army and Navy Department Store, 1107 - 33rd Street NE, Parking Lot
Start time: 6:15 p.m. / 7:00 Calgary Drop In Centre / 7:40 Salvation Army - Centre of Hope
Contact: Sue Black-Garland at sueblackgarland@invis.ca or 403.508.7800 x101

Edmonton
Meet location: #105, 14020 128 Avenue, Edmonton
Start time: 5:30 p.m. / Youth Empowerment and Support Services / Win House Shelter
Contact: Ron Manson at ronmanson@invis.ca or 780.446.0340

Winnipeg
Meet location: Invis office, 2310 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg
Start time: 5:00 p.m. / 5:00 Salvation Army Booth Centre. Cheque donation of $5,000 to Heima Er Best at a later date, along with a donation of winter jackets/pants/boots/gloves/hats for 100 children in need at The Wellington School.
Contact: Rosa Bovino at rosabovino@invis.ca or 204-781-4350

Windsor
Meet location: Devonshire Mall, 3100 Howard Ave, Windsor - Sears parking lot
Start time: 4:30 p.m. / Windsor Residence for Young Men / Welcome Center Shelter for Women / Our Lady of Guadalupe / Windsor-Essex County Youth Advocacy Centre
Contact: Deenie Stuebing at deenie.stuebing@migroup.ca or 519.250.4966 or Michael Celuch at michael.celuch@migroup.ca or 519.988.1070

London
Direct Delivery to My Sisters' Place.
To make a donation contact: Michelle Pace at michelle.pace@migroup.ca or 519.521.7167

Kitchener-Waterloo
Meet location: McWilliams Moving, 215 Frobisher Dr, Unit 2, Waterloo
Start time: 6:00 p.m. / 6:30 Lutherwood Safe Haven / YWCA Emergency Shelter / One ROOF / House of Friendship / Ray of Hope
Contact: Lori Pollice at loripollice@invis.ca or 519.589.5437

Oshawa
Meet location: 57 Kenneth Ave #1, Oshawa
Start time: 10:45 am / 11:30 The Refuge / 12:00 YWCA Durham
Contact: David Hetti at david.hetti@migroup.ca or Dharshi Hettiarachchi at dharshini.hettiarachchi@migroup.ca or 905.404.8001

Mississauga
A direct delivery to Peel Youth Village.
To make a donation contact: Margaret Green at marg@marggreen.ca or 416.938.6052

Barrie
There will be a cheque presentation made at Samaritan House.
To make a donation contact: Della Dwyer at delladwyer@invis.ca or 705.792.1527 x111

About Angels in the Night

Angels in the Night is a volunteer community event that aims to raise money through mortgage brokers, financial institutions, industry partners and other service providers to purchase items specifically requested by homeless shelters and related charitable organizations.

www.angelsinthenight.ca
www.facebook.com/InvisMI

« Back